Skip to main content
US Flag An official website of the United States government

Connect with the Peace Corps

If you're ready for something bigger, we have a place where you belong.

Follow us

Apply to the Peace Corps

The application process begins by selecting a service model and finding an open position.

Peace Corps Volunteer
2 years, 3 months
Log in/check status
Peace Corps Response
Up to 12 months
Log in/check status
Virtual Service Pilot
3-6 months
Log in/check status

Let us help you find the right position.

If you are flexible in where you serve for the two-year Peace Corps Volunteer program, our experts can match you with a position and country based on your experience and preferences.

Serve where you’re needed most


See the winners of agency awards given to exceptional Volunteers, Returned Volunteers, and staff.

John F. Kennedy Service Award

Each member of the Peace Corps family contributes to the agency’s success. The John F. Kennedy Service Award honors just a few of these individuals who go above and beyond for the Peace Corps and the United States of America every day.

Historically awarded every five years, the John F. Kennedy Service Award typically recognizes two current Peace Corps Volunteers, two Peace Corps staff members, one Returned Peace Corps Response Volunteer, and one Returned Peace Corps Volunteer for contributions beyond their duties to the agency and the nation.

Award recipients must demonstrate exceptional service and leadership and further the Peace Corps mission and its three goals:

  • To help the people of interested countries in meeting their need for trained Volunteers
  • To help promote a better understanding of Americans on the part of the peoples served
  • To help promote a better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans

View the full list of previous John F. Kennedy Service Award winners.

2021 winners

Due to the unique circumstances stemming from the global COVID-19 pandemic, the agency awarded one Returned Peace Corps Volunteer, two Returned Peace Corps Response Volunteers, and two current or former Peace Corps staff members in a ceremony which was held in May 2022.

  • Returned Peace Corps Volunteer: Liz Fanning (Morocco, 1993 – 1995)
  • Staff: Mamadou Diaw (Senegal)
  • Staff: Roberto (Ambet) Yangco (Philippines)
  • Returned Peace Corps Response Volunteer: Genevieve de los Santos Evenhouse (Guinea, 2006 – 2007; Zambia, 2007– 2008; Guyana 2008 – 2009 PCR; Uganda, 2015–2016 PCR)
  • Returned Peace Corps Response Volunteer: Karla Sierra (Panama, 2010 – 2012; Panama, 2012– 2013 PCR)

Read the story: 5 JFK Service Award recipients embody commitment and connection

Image of video frame
The John F. Kennedy Service Awards ceremony, which takes place every five years, was held in May 2022 at the U.S. Institute of Peace in Washington, D.C.

Franklin H. Williams Award

The Franklin H. Williams Award recognizes diverse Returned Peace Corps Volunteers who demonstrate a commitment to service and the Peace Corps' Third Goal of promoting a better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans.

This award is named for Franklin H. Williams, an early architect of the Peace Corps. He worked at the agency from its inception in 1961 to 1963 and helped Sargent Shriver — the first Peace Corps Director — promote the agency and its programs to the world.

Ambassador Williams' exceptional public service career included positions as the Peace Corps regional director for Africa, the U.S. representative to the United Nations Economic and Social Council, and the U.S. ambassador to Ghana.

The Director's Award is awarded to a diverse individual who has not previously served in the Peace Corps.

View full list of previous Franklin H. Williams Award winners

Lillian Carter Award

The Lillian Carter Award was established in 1986 in honor of President Carter's mother, who served as a health Volunteer in India in 1966 at age 68.

This award recognizes exceptional Peace Corps Volunteers who served at age 50 or over and have continued to advance the Peace Corps' Third Goal.

2021 winner

  • Carole Anne "Aziza" Reid (Served in Moldova 2016-2018; Eswatini 2018-2020)

Read the story: Carole Anne “Aziza” Reid Honored with Lillian Carter Award for Peace Corps Volunteers over 50

View the full list of previous Lillian Carter Award winners.

Image of video frame
2021 Lillian Carter Award ceremony

Harris Wofford Joint Service Award

In honor of Harris Wofford, whose contributions helped establish the Peace Corps and AmeriCorps programs, our agencies are recognizing individuals who have successfully completed both a full-time service term or its equivalent in AmeriCorps, and the Peace Corps or Peace Corps Response.

The Harris Wofford Joint Service Award, established in November 2020, recognizes and honors individuals who have served in both programs.

See more information and award criteria at