President John F. Kennedy
President John F. Kennedy

John F. Kennedy Service Award

Each member of the Peace Corps family contributes to the agency’s success. The John F. Kennedy Service Award honors just a few of these individuals who go above and beyond for the Peace Corps and America every day.

Awarded every five years, the John F. Kennedy Service Award recognizes two current Peace Corps Volunteers, two Peace Corps staff members, one returned Peace Corps Response Volunteer, and one returned Peace Corps Volunteer for contributions beyond their duties to the agency and the nation. 

Award recipients demonstrate exceptional service and leadership and further the Peace Corps mission and its three goals:

  • To help the people of interested countries in meeting their need for trained Volunteers
  • To help promote a better understanding of Americans on the part of the peoples served
  • To help promote a better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans

2016 winners


  • Theresa Govert, Botswana, 2013-16)
  • Lauren Breland, Thailand, 2014-17)


  • Bryan Dwyer (RPCV - El Salvador, 2002-04; Staff - El Salvador, Belize, Honduras, Rwanda, 2005-16)
  • T. A. “Froggy” Chance (Jamaica, 1982-present)

Returned Volunteers

  • Dr. Brian Goff Smith (Guatemala, 2003-06)
  • Bob Arias (Colombia, 1964-66; Peace Corps Response Panama, Paraguay, Colombia, 2009-13)

2011 winners


  • Robert Ferguson (Mexico, 2007–11)
  • Chris Fontanesi (Romania, 2007–11)


  • Maria Francisca (Frances) Asturias (Guatemala)
  • Mostafa Lamqaddam (Morocco)

Returned Volunteers

  • Kathryn Davies Clark (Sierra Leone, 1968–69; Jamaica, 1984–87)
  • Joe Carroll Jaycox (Venezuela, 1962–1964)

2006 winners


  • Scott Overdyke (Panama, 2004–06)
  • Barbara Schlieper (Ukraine, 2003–07)


  • William Bull (various African countries)
  • Munkhjin Tsogt (Mongolia)

Returned Volunteers

  • Tony Gasbarro (Dominican Republic, 1962–64; El Salvador, 1996–98)
  • Roland Foulkes (Ghana, 1982–84)

Franklin H. Williams
Franklin H. Williams

Franklin H. Williams Award

The Franklin H. Williams Award recognizes ethnically diverse returned Peace Corps Volunteers who demonstrate a commitment to community service and the Peace Corps' Third Goal of promoting a better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans.

This award is named for Franklin H. Williams, an early architect of the Peace Corps. He worked at the agency from its inception in 1961 to 1963 and helped Sargent Shriver—the first Peace Corps Director—promote the agency and its programs to the world. Ambassador Williams' exceptional public service career included positions as the Peace Corps regional director for Africa, the U.S. representative to the United Nations Economic and Social Council, and the U.S. ambassador to Ghana.

2016 winners

  • Director's Award (awarded to an exceptional non-RPCV): Bryan Stevenson, Equal Justice Initiative Founder and President
  • Ravi N. Dutta (Namibia, 2003-05)
  • Kendrall Masten (Zambia, 2005-07)
  • Dr. Paul M. Brown (Côte d’Ivoire, 1974-76)

2014 winners

  • Director's Award (awarded to an exceptional non-RPCV): Jo Ann Jenkins, AARP CEO
  • Ferney Giraldo (Guatemala, 2008–10)
  • Gertrude Anderson (Morocco, 1987–89)
  • Hugh Williams (Sierra Leone, 1974–76)
  • Manuel Colón (Paraguay, 2010–12)
  • Emily Ellison (China, 2009–12)
  • Alexandra Escobar (China, 2012–13)

Lilian Carter 1
Lillian Carter

Lillian Carter Award

The Lillian Carter Award was established in 1986 in honor of former President Carter's mother, who served as a health Volunteer in India in 1966 at age 68. This biennial award recognizes exceptional Peace Corps Volunteers who served at age 50 or over and have continued to advance the Peace Corps' Third Goal.

“The Lillian Carter Award is a wonderful celebration of what is best about the Peace Corps—offering up some of America's best to the world, and bringing the world home to other Americans." —President Jimmy Carter

2015 Winner

John Campbell

Returned Volunteer John F. “Jack” Campbell, of Columbus, Ohio. John, who turned 84 in 2015, served as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Fiji from 1989–91 at age 58 and completed a second assignment in Botswana from 1992–94. Since 2009, Campbell has served as Peace Corps campus recruiter at The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio, guiding students and members of the surrounding community through the application process and inspiring them to serve overseas as Peace Corps Volunteers.

"I have received more from Peace Corps than I have given," said Campbell, who helped local Fijians start small businesses and raised funds to build a school community in Botswana. "My time in foreign countries broadened my horizons and made me more understanding and accepting of other cultures and beliefs. I think it made me a better person."

Past Winners

  • Helene Ballmann Dudley (Slovakia, 1997–99; Colombia, 1968–70)
  • Diane Gallagher (Cape Verde, 1990–92)
  • Dr. Catherine Taylor Foster (Nepal, 1996–98)
  • Shirley Maly (Uruguay, 1992–95)